September 22, 2017 | Featured Articles

Download PDF

If your practice is racing toward the finish line to become recognized as a Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) under the 2014 program of the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) by September 30th, we wish you a speedy and successful finish!

If you are just beginning the journey but are familiar with the last version of the PCMH 2014 Standards, you will notice that PCMH 2017 is an entirely redesigned program.

What’s Out:

  • No more levels of recognition
  • No more elements and factors
  • No more three-year recognition period

What’s In:

  • Single Recognition Status. Practices either meet the criteria for recognition . . . or they don’t
  • Core Criteria and Elective Credits replace ‘elements’ and ‘factors’. Practices must complete 40 Core Criteria and at least 25 Elective Credits
  • Sustained Recognition Status. Practices can only retain recognition if they successfully submit and meet Quality I reporting requirements

Already Recognized Under 2014?

  • Wait for renewal and then enroll in the new annual reporting process under PCMH 2017 Standards.
  • Previously earned PCMH 2014 credit will be applied to aspects of PCMH 2017.
  • Practices with PCMH 2014 Level 3 recognition can move directly to the re-designed program with annual check-ins.
  • Practices with PCMH 2014 Level 1 and 2 will need to complete a more comprehensive program for recognition under PCMH 2017.

For a detailed crosswalk of the 2014 program to the redesigned 2017 program, click here.

You can also read our recent article ‘What You Need To Know About PCMH 2017’ here.